Hello Angels,

Do you like to read anything about engagement and wedding? I adore it so much and I would like to share with you.

We are in summer and summer is a wedding season. For this reason, I see many articles about it and love to read it. A few weeks ago, I read an article about engagement rings. There are so many rules from shape to color.

These days it is very normal to ring shop together for couples but I am a traditionalist and prefer to surprise.

If you are waiting for an engagement ring or if you love to follow anything about wedding like me, you should definitely know a few things about engagement rings.

I would like to share the things you need to know.


According to sales assistants around the world, rounds are the most popular ones because they are the most iconic and most sparkly. The most popular ring is Tiffany & Co. Six claw solitaire. It is simple and clean style that’s why many people prefer this one.

While rounds are timeless, many women prefer the oval shape. It is flattering, modern and looks bigger. The third popular option is cushion cut.

The other shapes are;

  • Emerald

  • Radiant

  • Princess

  • Heart

  • Pear

  • Asscher

  • Marquise

Shop Safe

GIA certified diamond engagement rings are always better choice.

The Gemological Institute of America is a n institute dedicated to gemology and jewelry making. GIA’s mission is to protect all buyers and sellers of gemstones by setting the standards used to evaluate gemstone quality. They standardize the quality of diamonds and the 4Cs to describe diamonds.

They prepare reports and reports include information about the 4 Cs of diamond quality (color, clarity, carat weight and cut) in addition to its treatments, fluoorescense and more.

If you want to wear something good, inform him about GIA certificate.

Understanding The 4Cs

The 4Cs outlines the most important information about a diamond engagement ring. They are clarity, color, carat weight and cut.


A diamond’s color valuation is based on the absence of color. Less color means higher quality. Diamonds are graded on scale from D to Z.

D-F: Colorless ( The rarest and highest quality)

G-J: Near Colorless (No discernible color, great quality)

K-M: Faint

N-R: Very Light

S-Z: Light


Clarity means inclusions in and on the surface of a diamond. Inclusions include small crystals, bruises and feathers. These flaws might be visible within or on top of the stone. The diamond clarity has six categories

  • Flawless

  • Internally Flawless

  • Very, Very Slightly Included

  • Very Slightly Included

  • Slightly Included

  • Included


Many people confuse diamond’s cut with a diamond’s shape (including me). Diamond cut doesn’t refer to its shape but rather it refers to the how well the diamond is proportioned. It is graded;

  • Excellent

  • Very Good

  • Good

  • Fair

  • Poor

  • Carat Weight

Carat weight doesn’t based on the size of the stone. It is consider the diamond’s cut and dimensions. Diamond weight determine how large the diamond appears.

Non Diamond Gemstones

Non diamond gemstones are also very popular – sapphires, emeralds and rubies. Kate Middleton’s blue sapphire ring is still super popular.


Every engagement doesn’t have only center stone. Colored metals, three stone options, hidden hallos skinny pave bands and thin bands are very popular right now.

What is your favorite jewelry brand? Which shape do you prefer?

Related Posts